Wine Making and the Wedding

So a week and a half ago, I got to make wine for the first time in my life! Basically it went like this:

I put on those giant Wellington boots and went to work on crushing grapes with my feet. Once each cauldron-full was trampled  into pulp and juices, it was poured into that giant wooden barrel standing behind Vasiko and I. We destroyed an entire of those blue plastic barrels which was filled with grapes. Then we went on to the next step:

Basically it entailed boiling that huge pot of water and pouring that entire bag of sugar into the water, stirring it and then transferring the hot sugar water to the wooden barrel of grape pulp. And that was the entire process. Now it is sitting and fermenting, and I have no idea when it will be ready. But I’m excited for that day.

Oh also, the day after we made the wine, we went to this wedding supra for someone somehow related to my host family (I never figured out exactly how):

It was a very festive, happy event, 4 long tables filled with plates and plates of food, jugs and jugs of wine, and people crammed in elbow to elbow. We ate, drank and were merry. Lots of toasts to the bride and the groom and their family and everything else imaginable. Lots of dancing and music and singing. It was definitely an unforgettable experience.

 

Leave a Reply

